Online Collection

The Online Collection showcases a selection of our objects for you to discover and explore. This resource will grow as the Museum's Collection is catalogued and computerised, and as new acquisitions are added.

« New search

« Prev - 1 of 1 results - Next »

Additional Images

Order of Merit awarded to Florence Nightingale, 1907

Since its institution in 1902, the Order of Merit has to date only admitted eight women, of which Florence Nightingale was the first. This highly prestigious Order, of which British membership is limited to the Sovereign and a maximum of 24 others at any one time, comprises six admirals, six generals and twelve civilians eminent in the fields of art, music and literature.

From medal group including, Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem, Order of St John, Royal Red Cross, Geneva Cross, and Norwegian Red Cross Society Badge of Honour.

NAM Accession Number

NAM. 1963-10-54-1


National Army Museum Copyright


National Army Museum, Conflict in Europe gallery

Object URL

Browse related themes