Online Collection

The Online Collection showcases a selection of our objects for you to discover and explore. This resource will grow as the Museum's Collection is catalogued and computerised, and as new acquisitions are added.

« New search

« Prev - 1 of 1 results - Next »

Cap badge, other ranks, Small Arms School Corps, 1965 (c)

Silver anodised aluminium badge with crossed rifles with bayonets fixed over a Vickers machine gun, surmounted by a monarchial crown, within a laurel wreath with scrolls bearing the Corps' title. Vertical slider fitting on the reverse.

The British Army's School of Musketry was established near Hythe in Kent in 1853. In 1909 it became the Small Arms School and in 1929, the Small Arms School Corps. Also in 1929, the Vickers machine gun emblem of the Machine Gun Corps was incorporated into the badge of the Small Arms School Corps. Relocated to Warminster in Wiltshire in 1969, the Corps retained responsibility for training British Army personnel in the use of small arms such as rifles and pistols, and support weapons such as machine guns.

NAM Accession Number

NAM. 1985-06-139-1


National Army Museum Copyright


National Army Museum, Study collection

Object URL